11/11/11: The Prophecy

09/30/2015 20:08

Film: 11-11-11: The Prophecy

Year: 2011

Director: Darren Lynn Bousman

Writer: Darren Lynn Bousman

Starring: Timothy Gibbs, Michael Landes and Brendan Price

 

Review:

This film follows Timothy Gibbs. We learn that he is a writer and had a family, but his wife and son died in a fire. He now lives in a hotel room, where we learn from agent, that he doesn’t leave much. Gibbs has a lot of followers, but he is struggling with continuing his writing.

Gibbs begins to see things all around him. He sees monsters out of the corners of his eye, but never seems to get a good look at them. The film actually begins three days before November 11, but he has weird things happening to him each day.

He goes to a support group where a woman speaks and we see that they are friends, she is played by Wendy Glenn. She gives him a journal to write in, but he gets into a car accident seconds later. He does leave the hospital without any injury.

He receives a call that his father is dying so he goes to Spain to see him. We learn that Gibbs is an atheist. His father and brother, his brother being played by Michael Landes, are both ministers. Landes immediately tries to get Gibbs back into the faith, but he wants nothing to do with it.

That is when he begins to notice the pattern of 11-11 in his life. His brother was born on it, his mother died on it, his son died at that time, he wakes up at night at the that time and there are strange things caught on the cameras outside of his father’s home at that time.

What is behind this number? Is it real or is it a coincidence? Why is there a man trying to kill his brother? Will Gibbs be able to keep his brother alive past 11-11-11? Are the things Gibbs seeing real or not?

First off, I liked this movie, but I know a lot of people are going to not like it. I am interested in films that cover religion, even though I am not religious. The mythology behind it is fascinating to me and this film borders on Christianity, but then there is another aspect of it that is brought up, which I liked.

The acting isn’t that great, but I liked the eerie feel the film creates and the ending I really enjoyed. I actually bumped my rating up one because of the twist and how everything is tied together.

I wouldn’t recommend this to most people, because you probably won’t like it. If you’re interested though in religious based horror/thrillers, then I would give this one a chance before you make up your mind. I will say that the acting isn’t the greatest and it isn’t overly scary, but the twist is different. If this sounds interesting, give it a chance.

 

My Rating: 6 out of 10