Basket Case

08/25/2015 20:29

Film: Basket Case

Year: 1982

Director: Frank Henenlotter

Writer: Frank Henenlotter

Starring: Kevin Van Hentenryck, Terri Susan Smith and Beverly Bonner

 

Review:

This is an interesting horror comedy that was made from a shoe-string budget. I was turned on to this film from a list of the best horror films. I have now seen this three times, with the last time being the 4K restoration in a theater and it was quite the experience. The synopsis of this film is a young man carrying a big basket that contains his extremely deformed Siamese-twin brother seeks vengeance on the doctors who separated them against their will.

I have to say that first off, this film is outrageous. With that out of the way, I liked it. I liked that this film is something different from most everything that is out there, especially today when it comes to remakes and seeing the same stories over again. Sure the creature looks fake and could this happen? Probably not, but this film is enjoyable. I like the idea of these brothers wanting to get revenge for them being separated. This also carries an interesting dynamic that they have a psychic link, which is something that is believed to be between close twins.

I think the acting isn’t the greatest, but I have seen much worse. They definitely overact, but as it goes on I don’t think that Kevin Van Hentenryck is all that bad. Everyone has their moments though and that adds to the charm of the film in my opinion.

The death scenes aren’t overly impressive, but with the creature being what it is, there isn’t much it can do. They do go bloody and hide a lot of the actual attacks due to lack of funds and technology. I actually prefer this instead of going too fake looking. I thought the blood looked good. As stated that Belial looked fake, but it was done practical and that was solid. Seeing it move with what looked to be stop motion was cheesy, but it does give a good laugh.

I will also state that the editing of the film is solid. It does move and build tension. Director and writer Frank Henenlotter has talent with some of the shots that he uses in the film. That did impress me. I will also state that he score of the film didn’t really stand out. It doesn’t hurt the film, but doesn’t help either.

I would recommend this film if you like low-budget, 80’s horror films. I would tell you to come in not expecting too much and just enjoy it. This one is part comedy so don’t take it seriously. The acting is okay, the concept of revenge is really good to be honest. There is a little bit of nudity. The death scenes aren’t that great, but this comes down to not having the budget to do more with Belial. I think having more of it happen off camera is strength though. If this sounds good, give it a chance.

 

My Rating: 7 out of 10