Candle Cove

08/24/2018 07:14

 Film: Candle Cove

Year: 2018

Director: Andrew J.D. Robinson

Writer: Andrew J.D. Robinson

Starring: Anne-Carolyne Binette and Tristan McIntosh

 

Review:

I had the pleasure of checking out this short film from director and writer Andrew J.D. Robinson. The name of it didn’t ring a bell, until I pulled this up on YouTube. I had listened to a podcast about popular CreepyPastas and Candle Cove was one of them. It was supposed to be about a public access show that ran in the early 1970’s.

For this film, we get our two main characters finding a box of old tapes and finding them to have episodes of this show. Tristan McIntosh doesn’t remember the final episode, but Anne-Carolyne Binette did. They remembered the show being two puppets and no sounds. She states that the last episode was them screaming.

They find a VCR and try to watch these.

I found this interesting even more when I remembered the basis of this. It starts out very fun, reminiscing about a show from their childhood. There was an interesting aspect of this where during my research an elderly woman thought it was odd that her son would go to watch static on the television for 30 minutes, claiming it was Candle Cove. The nostalgia feeling you get earlier in this quickly goes away and I felt unnerved when this short ends.

The effects of including the puppets in the film were good. I’m not entirely sure if that was what the Candle Cove puppets looked like, but for this film I thought it was fitting. The film is shot very well and it gives a natural feel to the film. The sound design of the film makes this very creepy, especially when they decide to watch the final episode.

I would recommend seeing this short film if you have the chance. It runs about 2 minutes in total and I had a lot of fun with it. The actors don’t have a lot to do, but when you learn the back-story of this CreepyPasta it adds another dimension. The sound design of the film was great and it made me feel quite comfortable. Overall this is a good short in my opinion. My only drawback would be that I want more and would definitely be interested in seeing this fleshed out more into a larger story. I do think that there is something there and could be a feature length. I will also have the YouTube link as well to the video with permission from writer/director Andrew Robinson.

 

My Rating: 8 out of 10

 

Candle Cove YouTube Link