Night of the Living Dead 3D

03/10/2018 12:24

Film: Night of the Living Dead 3D

Year: 2006

Director: Jeff Broadstreet

Writer: Robert Valding

Starring: Brianna Brown, Joshua DesRoches and Sid Haig

 

Review:

I have to say that I am giving this film the benefit of the doubt on a lot of things. I like the idea of taking a classic like Night of the Living Dead and making a remake that does something different. This one definitely does that. The official synopsis is both homage to and a re-imagining of the original 1968 film, this update follows a group of survivors trapped in a farmhouse battling a siege of undead zombies…in 3D!

I do like Haig and Brown in this, but their performances aren’t the greatest. They are passable though. I like that they used the characters and names from the original, but doing something different with them. I do think the zombies look pretty good for the most part and how they walk and act as well. That is about it.

The story for this is absurd though. They constantly are coming up with plans and then not doing anything with it. They know how to kill the zombies, but they do not do it. They instead just waste ammo. The zombies never seem to bite anybody. They seem to grab people, but the people always seem to get away. The problem with this is that they sit there in the house, in the barn or whatever when they can just walk right by them. I don’t feel this was all thought through. The acting is also pretty weak across the board as well. This film definitely was not thought out well and a more realistic approach would have been better.

I’m also not a big fan of the 3D aspects of the film. I feel that it was just a concept they tried to run with. It’s execution is just cheesy in my opinion.

I would avoid this film. It had a good concept and the story could have been good, but it falls short. The acting isn’t good. I did like Brown and Haig, but they could have been better. The make-up for the zombies was good and how they walk wasn’t bad. They never seem to keep anyone in their grasp though, even in big numbers. You should view the original or the 1990s remake if you want to see a much better version than this one.

 

My Rating: 3 out of 10