No Good Deed

04/13/2018 07:34

Film: No Good Deed

Year: 2014

Director: Sam Miller

Writer: Aimee Lagos

Starring: Taraji P. Henson, Idris Elba and Leslie Bibb

 

Review:

This film is not particularly a horror film, but there are a lot of elements in it. This is technically a crime, drama, thriller film. It does have a lot of horrific pieces to it. The official synopsis is an unstable escaped convict terrorizes a woman who is alone with her two children.

The concept is something that isn’t new. We have seen this before. There is a good twist near the end that I didn’t see coming and I’m glad they included it. I feel the acting was good across the board. Also for a film that is rated PG 13, there is some really good violence. They can get away with it by showing it off screen which is well done. I also think the idea of this film is very real and interesting to see how people fight back when faced with situations like this.

My issue with this film is that it is clichéd. This has been done before and the idea isn’t all that new. There is a part where a cop talks to Henson and he is very loud. To the point where Elba with his window down can hear everything he says. You would think that a cop would understand more of what was going on so that didn’t seem realistic either.

I am adding this film to the horror film research due to the fact that this is a scary situation to be in. Henson is being held by a man who is violent and has killed before. She has her children there to think about. It makes you think twice about a good looking man coming to your door for help.

I would say that all in all this film isn’t bad. This is a story that has been done previously. There is a good twist near the end that I liked. The acting is good and the action scenes are as well. There isn’t a whole lot that hasn’t been done before in films like this, so that does hurt my rating for this one though. Being PG 13, I feel that they did some things really well, but I also think that limited them in others things that could have enhanced this film.

 

My Rating: 6 out of 10