Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones

08/02/2018 07:24

Film: Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones

Year: 2014

Director: Christopher Landon

Writer: Christopher Landon

Starring: Andrew Jacobs, Jorge Diaz and Gabrielle Walsh

 

 

Review:

 

I have to say that first off, this is a spin-off from the Paranormal Activity line, but it does tie itself back in with the first three films. The official synopsis is when a young man becomes the target of a malevolent entity, he must uncover its true intentions before it takes complete control of him.

 

It is interesting take for this film to have. I actually thought it was good though and it had me hooked. I thought this one did some things better than the 3rd and 4th installments. I thought the acting was good enough and the demon/possession action was as well. The ending was pretty creepy. I liked the tie-ins, but it was somewhat confusing and kind of goes against the films originally had happen. Doesn’t ruin this film by any stretch, but brings into question the timeline and overall story. I will admit, its been some time since I’ve seen most of the original series and do need to revisit all of these films.

 

This film was plagued by same things that ruined the 3rd and 4th film for me. It takes way too long for them to get into the action and that brought down the rating for me. The other issues I have had with these films are they also are getting away from the demon haunting people to witches and this one definitely does that. I am not a big fan of the change, but this one does do it better than the other two. I was also confused about the ending.

 

From what I remember in this film, the found-footage angle is done good. The upgrades in technology definitely help this film as it makes it much easier to make it more believable. Along with that, the score of the film is all ambient. That did help with the realism of the film for sure.

 

I would recommend seeing this one if you like the series of films. If you like films that have elements of demon haunting and witches, then I would say give this a viewing as well. This film though isn’t for everyone. I thought the acting was good enough and the aspects of found-footage are believable. I did find this film to be very average, but I do need to rewatch all the films in the series to see not only how they held up, but for a more accurate rating. At this time I found it to be average, but I did enjoy the film.

 

 

My Rating: 5 out of 10